Skip navigation

Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation

Facebook logo LinkedIn logo Twitter logo

SPEC Benchmark Workshop 2009 Program

January 25, 2009
Austin, Texas

8:30-8:45 - Welcome

8:45-9:30 – Keynote
Benchmarking and Virtualization:Keys to Performance for Next Generation Data Centers
Paula Smith [VMware]

9:30-10:30 Benchmark Suites
  • SPECrate2006: Alternatives Considered, Lessons Learned
    John L. Henning [Sun Microsystems]
  • SPECjvm2008 Performance Characterization
    Kumar Shiv, Kingsum Chow, Yanping Wang, and Dmitry Petrochenko [Intel]

10:30-11:00 - Break

11:00–12:30 CPU Benchmarking
  • Performance Characterization of Itanium2-Based Montecito Processor
    Darshan Desai, Gerolf F. Hoflehner, Arun Kejariwal, Daniel M. Lavery, Alexandru Nicolau, Alexander V. Veidenbaum, and Cameron McNairy
    [Intel, University of California, Irvine ]
  • A Tale of Two Processors: Revisiting the RISC-CISC Debate
    Ciji Isen, Lizy John, and Eugene John [University of Texas at Austin, University of Texas at San Antonio]
  • Investigating Cache Parameters of x86 Family Processors
    Vlastimil Babka and Petr Tůma [Charles University]

12:30–2:00 - Lunch

2:00-3:00 Power/Thermal Benchmarking
  • The Next Frontier for Power/Performance Benchmarking: Energy Efficiency of Storage Subsystems
    Klaus-Dieter Lange [HP]
  • Thermal Design Space Exploration of 3D Die Stacked Multi-core Processors Using Geospatial-Based Predictive Models
    Chang-Burm Cho, Wangyuan Zhang, and Tao Li [University of Florida]

3:00-3:30 - Break

3:30-4:30 Modeling and Sampling Techniques
  • Generation, Validation and Analysis of SPEC CPU2006 Simulation Points Based on Branch, Memory and TLB Characteristics
    Karthik Ganesan, Deepak Panwar, and Lizy K. John [University of Texas at Austin]
  • A Note on the Effects of Service Time Distribution in the M/G/1 Queue
    Alexandre Brandwajn and Thomas Begin [Université Pierre et Marie Curie]
4:30-6:00 Panel – “Benchmarking in the Multi-core Era”
Panelists: Christian Bienia [Princeton University]; Christophe Harle [AMD]; Markus Levy [EEMBC]; Alex Mericas [IBM]
6:00-8:00 - Reception

IEEE logo In Cooperation with: IEEE Technical Committee on Computer Architecture (TCCA)